Under our bylaws, we have two classes of members: a full member is the person in each state or territory who is designated as the state genetics coordinator by the director of each state's health department. Full members may attend all meetings of members, vote, hold office, and serve on the Executive Committee, committees and sub-committees. Associate members are persons who are interested in promoting the Coalition's mission and who do not qualify for full membership. Associate members have all the benefits of full members except they may not vote, serve on the Executive Committee, or be chair of a committee.

A full copy of the Coalition's bylaws, in pdf format, may be found HERE. You will need the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to read them. If you don't have the Reader, you can download it HERE.

Our membership is: A C D F G H I K L M N O P R S T U V W

AK

Margaret H. Kurtagh
Genetic and Metabolic Clinic Manager
Newborn Metabolic Screening Co-Manager
3601 C Street, Suite 322
Anchorage, AK 99503
(907)269-3430 (907)269-3432 (F)
margaret.kurtagh@alaska.gov

AL

Cindy Ashley
Newborn Screening Coordinator
RSA Tower – Suite 1350
201 Monroe Street
Montgomery, AL 35104
(334) 206-2971
(334) 206-3061 fax
Cashley@adph.state.al.us

AR

Jackie Whitfield, R.N.
Arkansas Department of Health
Child and Adolescent Health Division
4815 West Markham Street - Slot 17
Little Rock, AR 72205-3867
(501) 280-4756
(501) 280-4082 fax
jackie.Whitfield@arkansas.gov

AZ

Ward Jacox
Chief, Dept. of Newborn Screening
Arizona Department of Health Services
250 N. 17th Ave – 1st Flr
Phoenix, AZ 85007
(602) 364-1410
(602) 364-1495 fax
jacoxw@azdhs.gov

CA

Fred Lorey, PhD
Acting Chief, Genetic Disease Screening Program
California Department of Health Services
850 Marina Bay Parkway
Richmond, CA 94804
(510) 412-1490
(510) 307-8468 fax
fred.lorey@cdph.ca.gov

CO

Vickie Thomson, Ph.D
Director, Newborn Screening Program
CDPHE – CSHCN
4300 Cherry Creek South
Denver, CO 80246
(303) 692-2458
vickie.thomson@state.co.gov

CT

Beverly C. Burke, M.S.W.
Genomics Office Coordinator
CT Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Avenue,
Hartford, CT 06134
(860)509-7122
beverly.burke@ct.gov

Joseph Ubaike
Newborn Screening Section (Genetic and Metabolic Disorders)
Katherine A. Kelley Public Health Laboratory,
Connecticut Department of Public Health
395 West Street
Rocky Hill , CT 06067
(860) 920-6615
Joseph.ubaike@ct.gov

DC

Yvockeea Monteiro
Director, Newborn Screening Program
DC Dept. of Health
825 NE. Capitol St – 3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20002
(202) 442-9158
Yvockeea.monteiro@dc.gov

DE

Louis E. Barthoshesky, MD, MPH, MALS
A.I. DuPont Hospital for Children
Division of Medical Genetics
1600 Rockland Road
PO Box 269
Wilmington, DE 19899
(302) 651-5916
(302) 651-5033 fax
lbartosh@nemours.org

FL

Lois Taylor
Director, Newborn Screening
4052 Bald Cypress Way – Bin A-06
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1707
(850) 245-4670
(954) 713-0640 fax
Lois_taylor@doh.state.fl.us

GA

Sharon Quary
Newborn Screening/UNHSI Program Manager
Office of Birth Outcomes, Division of Public Health
Department of Human Resources, State of Georgia
2 Peachtreet Street N.W.
Atlanta, GA 30303-3142
(404) 657-5761
(404) 463-6729 fax
scquary@dhr.state.ga.us

GUAM

Margarita Gay
Genetics Coordinator
(671) 735-7116
Margarita.gay@dphss.guam.gov

HI

Sylvia Mann, M.S., C.G.C.
Hawaii Department of Health
Genetics Program
741 Sunset Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96816
(808) 733-9063
(808) 733-9068 fax
sylvia@hawaiigenetics.org

IA

Kimberly Noble Piper, RNC, BS, CPH, CPHG
State Genetics Coordinator
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
(515) 281-6466
(515) 242-6013 fax
kpiper@idph.state.ia.us

ID

Mitchell L. Scoggins
Children’s Special Health Program Manager
Idaho State Dept of Health & Welfare
450 W. State St
Boise, ID 83720
(208) 334-5963
scogginm@dhw.idaho.gov

IL

Claudia Nash, M.S.
Genetics Program Administrator
Illinois Department of Public Health
500 East Monroe Street 1st Floor
Springfield, IL 62701
(217) 524-4900
(217) 557-5396 fax
claudia.nash@illinois.gov

IN

Courtney Eddy, MT (ASCP), MS
Genomics Program Director
Indiana State Department of Health
2 North Meridian St – 8C
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 233-9260
ceddy@isdh.in.gov

KS

Jamey Kendall, R.N., B.S.N.
Newborn Screening Follow-up
Children's Developmental Services
1000 SW Jackson Street Suite 220
Topeka, KS 66612-1274
(785) 291-3363
(785) 296-2950 fax
jkendall@kdheks.gov

KY

Sandy Dawbush
Nurse Administrator
Newborn Screening Program
Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services
275 E. Main St – HS2W-C
Frankfort, KY 40621-0001
(502) 564-3756 ext 3563
Sandy.fawbush@ky.gov

LA

Cheryl Harris
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals
Louisiana Genetic Disease Program
3101 W. Napolean Ave – Rm 141
Metairie, LA 70001
(504) 219-4411
(504) 219-4452 fax
cheryl.harris@la.gov

MA

Janet Farrell
Dept. of Public Health
250 Washington St.
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 624-5959
Janet.farell@state.ma.us

MD

Deborah Badawi, M.D.
Maryland Department of Health & Mental Hygiene
201 W Preston Street, #424
Baltimore, MD 21201
(410)767-5592
dbadawi@dhmh.state.md.us

ME

Ellie Mulchahy, R.N.C.
Maine CDC
Genetics Program
11 State House Station
286 Water Street 7th Floor
Augusta, ME 04333-0011
(207) 287-4623
(207) 287-4743 fax
Eleanor.A.Mulcahy@maine.gov

MI

Janice Bach, M.S., C.G.C.
State Genetics Coordinator and Manager
Genomics and Genetic Disorders Section
Michigan Dept of Community Health
201 Townsend St.
PO Box 30195
Lansing, MI 48909
(517) 335-8887
(517) 335-9419 fax
bachj@michigan.gov

MN

Kristin Peterson Oehlke, M.S., C.G.C.
Minnesota Department of Health
P. O. Box 9441
Minneapolis, MN 55440-9441
(612) 676-5483
(612) 676-5057 fax
Kristin.Oehlke@health.state.mn.us

MO

Dr. Sharmini V. Rogers, M.B.B.S., M.P.H.
Bureau of Genetics & Healthy Childhood
Section for Healthy Families and Youth
Division of Community and Public Health
930 Wildwood Drive
Jefferson City, MO 65109
(or) P. O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102
(573) 751-6214
(573) 526-5347 fax
Sharmini.Rogers@dhss.mo.gov

MS

Beryl Polk
Mississippi Department of Health
Division of Genetic Services
P. O. Box 1700
Jackson, MS 39215-1700
(601) 576-7619
(601) 576-7894 fax
bpolk@msdh.state.ms.us

MT

Linda S. Beischel, CLSp (MB) CLSup
Newborn Screening Program Specialist
Children’s Special Health Services
Family and Community Health Bureau
Department of Public Health and Human Services
1218 E. Sixth Ave
PO Box 202951
Helena, MT 59620
(406) 444-0984
(406) 444-2750 fax
lbeischel@mt.gov

NC

Joan Crissey, MS CCC-SLP
State Genetics Coordinator
Genetics and Newborn Screening Unit
Women's and Children's Health
NC Division of Public Health
NC Department of Health & Human Services
1928 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1928
(919) 707-5630
(919) 870-4880 fax
joan.crissey@ncmail.net

ND

Mary Riske, RN, MS, CNS
Nurse Geneticist / Asst. Professor
Dept of Pediatrics / Genetics
UND-SMHS
501 Columbia Road, Stop 9037
Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037
(701) 777-4243
(701) 777-3220 fax
mriske@medicine.nodak.edu

NE

Julie Miller, B.S.
Program Director
Newborn Screening and Genetics
NE Dept of Health and Human Services
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-5026
(402) 471-6733
(402) 471-1863 fax
julie.miller@nebraska.gov

NH

**Marcia Lavochkin RN, BSN
Program Coordinator
NH Newborn Screening Program
29 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-4225
(603) 271-4519 fax
mlavochkin@dhhs.state.nh.us

Ruth fox, RN, MS
Coordinator
New Hampshire Early Hearing Detection & Intervention (EHDI) Program
NH Dept of Health & Human Services
29 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-1037
rfox@dhhs.state.nh.us

NJ

Suzanne Karabin, M.S., C.G.C.
Research Scientist 2
NJ Department of Health and Senior Services
Special Child Health and Early Intervention Services
Newborn Screening and Genetic Services Program
P.O. Box 364
Trenton, NJ 08625-0364
(609) 292-1582
(609) 943-5752 Fax
suzanne.karabin@doh.state.nj.us

NM

Brenda Romero, R.N.
New Mexico Department of Health
Nurse Consultant, Prevention & Screening
Children’s Medical Services
2040 Pacheco
Santa Fe, NM 87505
(or) New Mexico Dept of Health
Children’s Medical Services
(505) 476-8857
(505) 476-8896 fax
Brenda.romero@doh.state.nm.us

NV

Jack Zenteno
Nevada Center of Congenital and Inherited Disorders
Program Manager
Bureau of Child, Family and Community Wellness
Nevada State Health Division
4150 Technology, Way – Suite 101
Carson City, NV 89706
(775) 684-3478
(775) 684-4245 fax
jzenteno@health.nv.gov

NY

Katherine B. Harris, MBA
NYMAC Project director
NYS Genetic Service Program Director
Wadsworth Center – Rm E297
Empire State Plaza, P.O. Box 509
Albany, NY 12201-0509
(518) 474-7148
Kbh02@health.state.ny.us

OH

Shelley Nottingham, MSW, LISW
Genetics Program Coordinator
Bureau for Children with Medical Handicaps
Ohio Department of Health
246 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43215
(614) 728-4677
(614) 728-3616 fax
shelley.nottingham@odh.ohio.gov

OK

Sharon Vaz
States Genetics Coordinator
Oklahoma State Department of Health - Genetics Program
1000 NE 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73117
(405) 271-9444 ext 56750
SharonAV@health.ok.gov

OR

Summer Lee Cox, MPH
Genetics Program Coordinator
Oregon Genetics Program
Public Health Division
Oregon Health Authority
800 NE Oregon St, Suite 805
Portland, OR 97232
(971) 673-0273
(971)673-0250 (F)
summer.l.cox@state.or.us
http://www.healthoregon.org/genetics

PA

David Marchetto
Pennsylvania Department of Health
Health and Welfare Bldg.
Division Director, Newborn Disease Prevention & Identification
Genetics Program
7th and Forster St.
7th Floor, East wing
Harrisburg, PA 17120
(717) 783-8143
dmarchetto@state.pa.us

Puerto Rico

Pedro Juan Santiago Borrero
PState NBS Lab Director
University of Puerto Rico
Medical Sciences Campus
Pediatric Hospital
GPO Box 5067
San Jaun, PR 9465067
(787) 754-7410
pjsantiago@centennialpr.net

RI

Blythe Berger
(Interim) State Genetics Coordinator
Rhode Island Dept of Health
3 Capital Hill – Rm302
Providence, RI 02908
(401) 222-5949
Blythe.berger@health.ri.gov

SC

Kathy Tomashitis, MNS, RD, LD
Pediatric Screening Follow-up Program
SC DHEC, Women and Children’s Services
Box 101106
Columbia, SC 29211
(803) 898-0619
(803) 898-0337 fax
tomashkf@dhec.sc.gov

SD

Kayla Tinker
Administrator
Office of Family Health
SD Dept of Health
600 E. Capitol St.
Pierre, SD 57501
(605) 773-3737 (ask for Layla)
Kayla.tinker@state.sd.us

TN

Cindy Wallace
Tennessee Department of Health
Women Health & Genetics
Newborn Screening Follow-up
630 Hart Lane
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 262-6383
(615) 262-6458 fax
Cynthia.wallace@tn.gov

TX

Debra Freedenberg, MD, PhD
Medical Director
NBS & Genetics
PO Box 149347 MC 1918
Austin, TX 78714-9347
(512) 458-7111 (ex. 3101)
debra.freedenberg@dshs.state.tx.us

UT

Rebecca T. Giles, M.P.H., CHES
Manager
Utah Asthma Program and Utah Chronic Disease Genomics Program
Utah Department of Health
P.O. Box 142106
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2106
(801) 538-6259
(801) 538-9303 fax
rgiles@utah.gov

VA

Sharon K. Williams, M.S., R.N.
Virginia Department of Health
Division of Child and Adolescent Health
Virginia Dept of Health – 8th Flr
109 Governor Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 864-7712
(804) 864-7807 fax
sharonk.williams@vdh.virginia.gov

Virgin Islands

C. Patricia Penn, R.N.
Director, MCH & CS HCN Program
V.I. Dept. of Health
2C Contant, AQ Building, 2nd Floor
St. Thomas, VI 00802
(340) 777-8804 (ex. 2706)
(866) 248-4004 toll-free
(340) 774-8633 fax
patricia.penn@usvi-doh.org

VT

Cindy Ingham, R.N., B.S.N.
Newborn Screening Program Chief
VT Department of Health
Children with Special Health Needs
PO Box 70
108 Cherry Street
Burlington, VT 05402
(802) 951-5180
(802) 651-1218 fax
CIngham@vdh.state.vt.us

WA

Debra Lochner Doyle, M.S., C.G.C.
Washington State Department of Health
Genetics Program
20435 72nd Avenue S., Suite #200, MS:K17-8
Kent, WA 98032
(253) 395-6742
(253) 395-6737 fax
Debra.LochnerDoyle@doh.wa.gov

WI

Michelle Kempf-Weibel, M.S., C.G.C.
State Genetic Coordinator
Wisconsin Dept of Health Services
1 W. Wilson – Rm 351
Madison, WI 53701
(608) 267-7148
Michelle.KempfWeibel@dhs.wisconsin.gov

WV

Kathy Cummons
Division of Research , Evaluation and Planning
Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health
Bureau of Public Health
WV Department of Health and HR
305 capitol St. – Rm 427
Charleston WV, 25301
(304) 558-5388
katheycummons@wvhhr.org

Mary Beth Hummel, M.D.
WVU Dept. of Pediatrics
HSC – P. O. Box 9214
Morgantown, WV 26506
((304) 558-5388
(304) 293-7332
(304) 293-4337 fax
Mhummel@hsc.wvu.edu

WY

Carleigh Soule
State Genetics
WY Dept. of Health
6101 Yellowstone Road – Ste 420
Cheyenne, WY 82002
(307) 777-6297
(307) 777-7215 fax
Carleigh.soule@health.wyo.gov

Last updated Oct 7, 2013